Fab10
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: 21 Jun 2017 14:46

EMT Reporting All Versions of P3D Installed

21 Jun 2017 18:05

Hi,

I have V4.0.0.1094 of the EMT installed, with P3D V4 and FSX:SE as my only two active platforms installed.

I had an issue which required me to uninstall and then reinstall P3D V4, which was fine as it was a fairly new installation.

However, FTX Central v3 and TFDi's Install Manager both see all versions of P3D installed, and these are persistent (see images) and each points to the installation path of my only P3D V4 setup

LM P3D support asked if EMT was installed, and if so, to try removing it, which I did, but then I found that had three errors with the EMT as well (see images):
1. The initial configuration screen keeps appearing with FSX (not SE), P3D V2, V3, & V4.
2. Two XML errors during install.
3. Two XML errors during uninstall.

I have also trawled the registry to find out where these are; I found the expected LM P3D V4 entry plus entries for V1, V2 and V3:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\LockheedMartin\Prepar3D] 

I saved and removed these, but these reappear, and no difference is reported using FTX and TFDi.

Things aren't right, but P3D V4 is actually running fine, but i'm reluctant to install too many things in case it's going to fail.

have you any ideas and where can I look for the problem?

Thanks,
Fabio
Attachments
TFDi 717 P3D.png
TFDi 717 P3D.png (410.83 KiB) Viewed 685 times
P3D Versions.jpg
P3D Versions.jpg (209.65 KiB) Viewed 685 times
FTX V3 P3D V1 to 4.jpg
FTX V3 P3D V1 to 4.jpg (160.01 KiB) Viewed 685 times
EMT P3D Versions.png
EMT P3D Versions.png (13.29 KiB) Viewed 685 times
EMT P3D V4.png
EMT P3D V4.png (8.47 KiB) Viewed 685 times
 
Paavo
Site Admin
Posts: 10
Joined: 21 Feb 2017 04:10

Re: EMT Reporting All Versions of P3D Installed

21 Jun 2017 22:56

Start Migration Tool, select Tools > Configure simulators. Point out where simulators are installed. Remove checkmark from simulators that are not installed. Treat FSX:SE as if it was FSX. In fact, if FSX is not installed, FSX:SE makes itself appear as FSX to the operating system.

Does anything remain out of order after these steps?
 
Fab10
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: 21 Jun 2017 14:46

Re: EMT Reporting All Versions of P3D Installed

21 Jun 2017 23:15

Hi,

I followed the precise steps you said previously, and I tried again just now.

When i uncheck P3D V2 & V3 from the simulator configuration, it creates backups.

The EMT can be enabled and disabled normally, but when it's closed down and restarted, the EMT still shows P3D V2 and V3 as present with the same path as my P3D V4.

Thanks,
Fabio
 
Paavo
Site Admin
Posts: 10
Joined: 21 Feb 2017 04:10

Re: EMT Reporting All Versions of P3D Installed

22 Jun 2017 00:38

Download and install this version of Migration Tool:
https://www.flightsim.ee/download/5261/
 
Fab10
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: 21 Jun 2017 14:46

Re: EMT Reporting All Versions of P3D Installed

22 Jun 2017 19:27

Hi,

Yes, thank you, the new version has solved the problem.

For your information:

I ran an uninstall, and additionally I also deleted the EMT installation folder that was left behind.

When I ran the installer, I still saw the same XML errors as before, and so I clicked OK for both P3D V2 & V3 XML errors.

EMT then asked for me to configure my sims, and P3D V2 & V3 were both still checked, so these I unchecked.

On restarting EMT, both P3D V3 & V4 were gone, and all sim utilities such as FTX Central V3 and TFDi Download Manager reported only the presence of FSX:SE and P3D V4.

Again thank you for your help.

Fabio
Attachments
EMT P3D V4.png
EMT P3D V4.png (8.47 KiB) Viewed 668 times
 
Paavo
Site Admin
Posts: 10
Joined: 21 Feb 2017 04:10

Re: EMT Reporting All Versions of P3D Installed

25 Jun 2017 02:24

That's expected. The installer also believes that v2 and v3 are installed until you run the new tool for the first time and it fixes everything.